It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Gardening Season

My favorite time of year is just around the corner… gardening season! It sure seemed to be moving into a more garden-friendly season yesterday, but today is dang chilly. Anyway, I love the end of spring and beginning of summer because my garden has begun and I’m not tired of it yet. I can see the harvest on the horizon and I’m still way into it.

I need to sit down and figure out what we plan to grow this season. Last season we had a setback when we accidentally weed-treated the garden. Oops. This year we plan to use the compost we’ve been collecting and, well, composting, to nurture our garden. I may even *gasp* test the soil! Maybe.

The past few years my dad has cultivated a variety of heirloom tomato volunteers from previous years. My pal Mary and I love making salsa (she’s the pro, actually. I’m just the canning hand) and last year’s heirloom tomatoes made delicious and gorgeous salsa. So tomatoes are a must for this year’s garden. I always like to do a mesclun mix and onions also. Last year I had peas that did decently, so I might do them again, and my carrots were actually fabulous, so I’ll do them as well. I’d like to do a few varieties of peppers as well for drying and pickling, and possibly some garlic, which I’ve not done previously. I’d also like to do potatoes, which I understand are super easy, but I’ve never done them before.

I’ll definitely do some herbs; we use lots of mint, rosemary, basil, and cilantro, and I’d like to try sage this year so we can possibly make our own sausage. Now that I have a dehydrator I can more quickly and easily process some of the herbs, too.

Can’t wait! What are you looking most forward to planting and harvesting?

Image

One thought on “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Gardening Season”

Leave a Reply

